Well, ladies and gentlemen, hold on to your hats because Major League Cricket (MLC) has landed in the USA, and it’s causing a real stir! The T20 format has crossed the pond for the very first time, and boy, are we excited to see how it all unfolds. I’m your mate David “Bumble” Lloyd from Sky Sports Cricket, and I’m here to give you the full lowdown on this cricketing extravaganza!

What is Major League Cricket, you ask? Well, it’s the freshest T20 tournament on the block, taking inspiration from others like the IPL. The International Cricket Council (ICC) and USA Cricket have both given it the green light, but remember, these games won’t go down in the official records as the USA ain’t a full-member nation just yet.

So how does it work? It’s pretty much your classic T20 setup, folks. Each team gets their crack at an innings with 20 overs to make some magic happen. We’re looking at a round-robin stage initially, followed by a knockout-style “eliminator” match, two “qualifiers,” and finally, the grand showdown, the epic final itself!

Now, you must be itching to know where and when to catch all the action. Fear not, cricket lovers! TNT Sports is the place to be in the UK, broadcasting every single game live. And if you want more cricket goodness, you can dive into discovery+ for TNT Sports, Eurosport, and tons of entertainment bundled together.

Alright, mark your calendars, folks! The first-ever edition of Major League Cricket will run from July 13 to July 30, 2023. It all started with a bang as Texas Super Kings crushed Los Angeles Knight Riders by a thumping 69 runs in Dallas on July 13. Expect more fireworks as the action unfolds!

Now, let’s meet the teams and the superstars they’ve got on board. Here are the six contenders for MLC glory:

  • Los Angeles Knight Riders
  • MI New York
  • San Francisco Unicorns
  • Seattle Orcas
  • Texas Super Kings
  • Washington Freedom

Hold your horses; I haven’t forgotten about the players! This tournament is brimming with stars, my friends. We’ve got the likes of Jason Roy, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Rashid Khan, Trent Boult, Kieron Pollard, Aaron Finch, Marcus Stoinis, Corey Anderson, Liam Plunkett, Faf du Plessis, Devon Conway, David Miller, Quinton de Kock, Shimron Hetmyer, Imad Wasim, Sikandar Raza, Anrich Nortje, and Marco Jansen. Phew, what a lineup!

These squads were chosen through a player draft held back in March, so you know it’s going to be an epic battle between some of the biggest names in world cricket.

As for the venues, we’ve got two hotspots for MLC action: Grand Prairie Stadium in Texas and Church Street Park Stadium in Morrisville, North Carolina.

So, folks, fasten your seatbelts and get ready for the thrill ride that is Major League Cricket! It’s time for the USA to show the world what they’ve got on the cricketing stage, and I, for one, can’t wait to see how it all pans out!